Goodnight, Beautiful

30 11 2009

Author: Dorothy Koomson

Pages: 488

Published: 4 September 2008

ISBN: 9781847442727

An ultimate chick-lit drama and tear jerker of note;  I picked up this book and judged it wholly by the cover.  It was chick-lit and I am not the one for a Mills & Boon marathon. Despite my gut feeling, I listened to that little voice in my head urging me to broaden my reading experience, opened the book and fell in love with Koomson’s writing.  She writes like an old friend writing a letter.

Dorothy Koomson is a British novelist with many bestsellers under her belt, including The Cupid Effect, My Best Friend’s Girl and Marshmallows for Breakfast. I personally had not heard of her since I randomly picked this (Goodnight, Beautiful) book up.

When Nova agrees to be a surrogate mother for her best friend Mal and his wife Stephanie, she didn’t expect to be abandoned when they decide they no longer want the baby. Nova moves to Brighton and brings up Leo alone until she marries the steadfast Keith.

Tragedy strikes and Leo is lying in a coma on the brink of death. Nova invites Mal back into their lives to allow her son sometime with his real father.  This is where this oh-so-dramatic drama picks up its pace.  You are whirled through memories of Mal and Nova from their childhood to the most recent memories that bring the reader to the hospital room where Nova now struggles for hope and the want for her little boy to wake up.  Now I am not going to tell you the ending, it is no doubt shocking and tear-jerking as human mistakes being to dictate these characters lives.

Read it…

6 out of 10

Buy Goodnight, Beautiful

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

