Avenged Sevenfold – Avenged Sevenfold

6 11 2007

Avenged Sevenfold CD CoverAvenged Sevenfold is the eponymous fourth album by Avenged Sevenfold, or A7X as fans of the band call them. The album is actually is a pleasant surprise for me, as I have not been a great fan of their earlier works, but to be honest, I was actually blown away by Avenged Sevenfold. The first track and lead single for the album is Critical Acclaim, which is an excellent song, which opens the album on a strong note, the track features a strong guitar riff which leads right out of an organ tune, which in this case makes for an exceptional song beginning. From there, the drums kick in, and then the song starts proper. The driving vocals by M. Shadows are not the greatest, but they are still strong none the less. While Critical Acclaim is a little bit too political for me (he talks about America’s troops etc. etc.) I still think it’s a strong track.

From there, the second single starts. Named Almost Easy, it is more frantic than Critical Acclaim, although not by much. The guitar is catchy and the chorus will be stuck in your head for days. The next track, Scream, is much of the same as the previous two, which in my opinion is not a bad thing. Scream, however, is one of the weaker tracks on the album, as it seems to somehow lack the catchy chorus and the screaming guitar riffs that are present on the rest of the album. Afterlife, the fourth track of the relatively short ten track release, again features repetitive guitar coupled with catchy lyrics and tune; as well as some pretty intense drumming, if you can hear it over the guitars.

From Afterlife, we move onto Gunslinger, a track name that brings up images of Western movies. Indeed, the beginning of the track seems to promise that, with clean vocals and acoustic guitar playing. This relative peace is short lived, however, as the drums and screaming electric guitars quickly make a comeback just over a minute into the song. The vocals on Gunslinger are the primary attraction, and a lesser vocalist would not be able to pull it off, as I believe the voice would quickly grate and irritate the listener. There is still no guarantee that this won’t happen to you, but I found it endearing and made me like the song. The second half of the CD begins with Unbound (The Wild Ride), which is a step down from previous songs. It seems softer somehow, as if the guitars and drums have been toned down a notch. Vocals are still prominent and, while not as catchy as earlier songs, Unbound (The Wild Ride) is still a decent track, but weaker, possibly the worst on the album.

From there, we move onto Brompton Cocktail, which continues with the vocal preference. The guitars are still there, making themselves heard, and this, and indeed any track on this album, would be an awesome addition to a rhythm game such as Guitar Hero. My one complaint about this track is the bridge seems overly long and soft, when compared to the rest of the song. The eighth track, Lost, is one of my personal favourites on the album, and features another chorus that you will struggle to get out of your head. The aforementioned chorus and bridge feature Shadows’ vocals augmented with some or other effects pedal by the sounds of it. I cannot quite place my finger on what exactly this sounds like, but it is similar to another band or song that I have heard. The verse lyrics proper are pretty forgettable, but the tune and the chorus will have you revisiting this song over and over again.

The second last song is called A Little Piece of Heaven and it starts randomly, with an oboe and piano along with a saxophone, although these are quickly replaced with the standard instruments. Well, not replaced exactly, as they are audible in the background of the song itself. A Little Piece of Heaven is rather an eclectic song, with tempo changes and strange lyrics that seem out of place at times. Other parts of the song would not be out of place in a circus, they just sound like they belong there. To be more accurate though, a House of Horrors, due to the presence of the angry vocals. The chorus, which is almost spoken, is also very catchy and will most likely hook you.

Finally, the last song (Dear God) is much slower than the rest of the album, and reminds me a lot of a ballad or a Country and Western song, with what sounds like a violin playing for most of the song. The lyrics deal with the same sort of subject matter, with the singer being separated from his girlfriend and asking God to keep her safe and “Hold her when I’m not around, when I’m much too far away”. As mentioned, a change of pace, but it somehow works.

All in all, this album is one of my favourites right now. I fear that it may be a victim of it’s own success, and suddenly crash after an extended period of time spend in my CD player. I’ve seen it happen before, and it has similar characteristics to those CDs – namely catchy choruses and impressive guitar riffs, licks and hooks. Personally, I believe this well worth your purchase, even if it is only for a month before you get sick of it. Maybe in a few months or years, you will find it lying on the ground, covered in dust, and give it another listen. And it will probably still be good even then.

As mentioned above in the track by track listen through, the vocals seem to be the main feature of the album. The lead singer’s voice is strong enough to pull this off, however, but many will find the particular style a turnoff, and possibly too whiny as well. The lack of screaming and growling may also turn off some fans, but the apparently more radio friendly nature and easy accessibility of the album will garner many new fans.

My final verdict on this album is to give it a listen if you get the chance before buying it. I believe that you will either love it or hate it, with very little middle ground. Remember, this is just my opinions here, in the end it’s your money and your decisions.

Coming soon: Demon Hunter – Storm the Gates of Hell

How I Met Your Mother Season 3 (All episodes so far)

Actions

Information

6 responses

7 11 2007
kaorublade

This album hasn’t been released in my country. So I am still wondering what this album can offer to me…I have listened to “Almost Easy” and “Critical Acclaim”, and I like it. By reading your review, I think I will like them all. Thanks!! A very great review:).

20 11 2007
Chris

Got the CD, really impressed.

4 12 2007
b boy

say you get the fuck

4 12 2007
b boy

love it or die

20 02 2008
george

A S are the best so is the album i want to meat them all and im tryin to lean the rif for almost easy A S ARE THE BEST KNOW IT

3 01 2009
musichyper

They are good at what they do, but I think it’s terribly cheesy and just can’t get my head around why they are so popular.

I hyped Avenged Sevenfold on Everhype.com and gave them 53% which I think is fairly accurate.

http://www.everhype.com/hyper/mikeborgia?X=S2261

If you get on there rate me a 5 and request friendship.

Leave a Reply

